Running 5k race (almost)

10 days to go till my first 5k race!!

I think back to a few months ago. March, lets say just to put a date on it. I started C25k. I struggled, there’s no other word for it and I was only running for a minute at a time. I couldn’t dream of doing running anything longer, and felt for sure I would give up long before I really started to get anywhere.

Fast forward 3 months and I know I can do it, in fact I know I can go even longer if I really wanted to!  I’m excited about next Sunday. It’s a race for life I’m doing because when I signed up I liked the fact that I could have walked if I felt tired. Now I feel there is no way I would do that. I would be cheating myself out of an achievement!

During the past 3 months I have had help. I signed up for a 5k runners course and I have found it to be really positive. The leaders have been motivating and it’s given me the confidence to run on the street rather then just a treadmill. I’ve really enjoyed it. It was week 8 this week and we did a 15 minute out and back today, a repeat of one we did in week 3. The goal was to beat your previous run and also beat the 15 minutes to get back to the start before 30 minutes are up.

I pushed myself tonight and not only did I surpass my old distance I did better on time as well. The best I have done yet

IMG_0373[1]

If only I had kept going just a tiny bit longer!

I know it’s not quite 5k but it’s so close how could I not count it!and in under 30minutes. No wonder I was dying at the end of it.

 

All I know is bring on next Sunday!!

 

Jenna

Leave a Reply

