Venting

So someone on twitter posted this:

IMG_0449[1]

It’s this. This attitude towards others. You’ve put this on a public forum, where anyone can see it. Why can you be happy, comfortable in your own body and wear what you like but someone else can’t. This person had, only the other day, posted that she was sunbathing topless by the pool and she didn’t care about what others think. So why judge others who are comfortable in their bodies?!?! Why make someone feel less (even if they don’t know it) but I’m guessing there were looks that accompanied the tweet prior.

I know I shouldn’t be upset/annoyed by this but I am. I’ve been on the end where I’ve had underhanded comments said in my direction about weight. I am by no means perfect body wise and I am nowhere near comfortable with my own body but I have enjoyed being able to explore and try on different clothes. Some completely unsuitable for my body, but it’s a matter of trial and error most of the time.

It is (and excuse the language) bloody HOT at the moment. What do people with this attitude expect “woman of a certain size” to do? Wear long sack dresses in order to hide any part of their body because heavens forbid they show any skin that is dimpled. Lets be realistic here, last summer I did spent most of the warm weather hidden in a cardigan since I would hate for people to have to see my upper arms and say anything about it. But I would wear shorts that stopped above my knees and if I knew that anyone had said anything like this about me I would die of embarrassment. No one has the right to make another person feel that way and I don’t care if the person she said it about was never going to read her post, let her be happy and body confident! I wish I had the body confidence I know some people have, especially some girls of larger sizes. I am jealous when I see girls trying on clothes I could never dare wear and have  the confidence to pull it off. And when on occasion I am able to fake that confidence, the last thing I want is to be ridiculed for it!

I will be completely honest and say that yes I often go “wow! They are more like undies then shorts,” or “That girls lost half her shirt” but thinking about it, I don’t put it down to a size. If I can see your butt cheeks/ underwear, Yes your shorts are too short. If it’s mid thigh that’s fine by me as long as you are comfortable. Even models have dimples (most of them are just airbrushed out of the pictures in magazines.)

I’m sorry for such a long post but I really needed to vent, Until next time

Jenna

3 thoughts on “Venting

  1. rubyrubble says:

    Ugh I totally get it. As a bigger woman I hear this all the time, even to the point where randoms will message me on facebook to tell me I’m filthy for being fat (also I’m quite happy with the way I look so it doesn’t affect my confidence). I just don’t understand the drive to make nasty comments. Don’t they have anything better to do?

Leave a Reply

