#25 Go to a fancy afternoon tea

As someone not from the UK, I personally think that one of the most quintessential British foodie experiences (apart from fish ad chips at the seaside) is a proper afternoon tea. I’m talking teapots, mini sandwiches, scones with jam and clotted cream, and cakes.
I’ve been lucky enough to up till Saturday live in towns in the Midlands where teashops are in abundance. So when my family came over from New Zealand looking for a proper English experience, I knew where to take them.
On Thursday, we headed over to Stratford-upon-Avon to show them not only a gorgeous town but have afternoon tea. We went to Fourteas which is a forties themed teashop (Get it?). The waitresses wear period costume and there are posters from WWII hang on the walls.
For £10 you get a pot of tea, choice of sandwich (I had Brie and grape), jam and cream scone and a selection of cakes (see photos below.) There were four of us and we got two large pots of tea and more then enough sweet treats that we didn’t manage to finish but got to take home.

20130809-153518.jpg

20130809-153420.jpg

20130809-153529.jpg

20130809-153542.jpg

It’s the second time I’ve been and both times I’ve been impressed with the service and quality if the food, so if you’re ever in Stratford, I would recommend it.
I’m not crossing this one off my list just yet since what I mean when I say fancy is a high tea where you are expected to dress up and have pinkies out and all that jazz. Anyone have a place they would recommend?

Jenna

One thought on “#25 Go to a fancy afternoon tea

Leave a Reply

