#15 Go hiking (Slovenia part 2)

IMG_8197

View from the top of the Pass

Thanks to the very helpful people on Twitter, I defined a hike as

at least an hour over a rough, hilly terrain

After 3 nights in Lake Bled, we headed via the Vršic Pass towards our next stop. The Vršic Pass is made up of 49 hairpin turns (even more terrifying when you’re driving on the other side of the road.) Along the way there are various places to stop, the views are gorgeous, just make sure the weather is alright unlike when we did it and were almost blown away at the top!

Bovec

Finally after 3 hours of windy roads and small towns, we arrived in Bovec. Known for its skiing in winter, Bovec seemed to be a haven for water sports during summer (but we’ll get to that in another post). First impressions of the town told me this was somewhere people only came to participate in sports before leaving. The one main street was made up of several cafes, at least a dozen or so different tour/sport companies and not much else (so much so that I didn’t even bother getting a photo of the town!)

About 5 km out of Bovec is where I got to cross #15 off the list:

Boka is the largest waterfall in Slovenia (or so the guy* told me) This was the view from the bottom: IMG_0630[1]

And this was the view after almost an hour of climbing up a steep Rocky path, clinging for fear life into trees in hope I don’t slip down.

IMG_0621[1]

Yes I was tired at the end but I felt good and I knew I could do it. I never have up even though I know even a few months back l would have and that’s what matters isn’t it?

I know it wasn’t quite an hour each way but given the terrain and type of walk it was I’ve decide to tick this one off**

This wasn't even the steepest part!

Just to prove it wasn’t flat

Jenna

*The guy being a tour guide I met the next day for those of you that care.

**also the boyfriend said that since his legs were shaking on the way down, he was fully convinced it was a hike.. and he’s a lot more into walking then I am.

IMG_8233

The BF near the top compared to….

IMG_8234

ME! (he said I was allowed to post that photo of him)

3 thoughts on “#15 Go hiking (Slovenia part 2)

Leave a Reply

