#12 Try 5 new sports/ fitness activities-Pole Dance

“To dance is to be out of yourself. Larger, more beautiful, more powerful.. This is power, it is glory on earth and it is yours for the taking”
― Agnes De Mille

I’m not confident, It’s my worst fear to put myself out there, especially if there’s a performance involved*.

BUT, when I read on twitter that there was going to be a pole class held in my local pub, I jumped at the chance to join. I managed to wrangle a friend to join in.. but from the beginning I knew that even if my friend didn’t want to continue, I did. I was hooked.

It was hard getting the hang of it (I’m not the most  coordinated person either.) But knowing how well I was doing, how much I was pushing myself (not only in fitness, but in confidence), meant I wanted to (and still want to) continue.

The class was small, only 5 of us for 4 poles. But the teacher is amazingly friendly. Praising us when we’re doing well, and trying her hardest to help us when we’re not, I think she was a big part of what made me want to continue.

I slightly gutted that my course is coming to an end, but I really can’t wait to join another class back in New Zealand, Which I hope will be as good and as supportive.

If anyone is local  to SW12/ Balham, I’d suggest you give the taster class a go on August  4th (only £5!!)

20140630_195119

See there is a blurry smile on my face

20140630_195113

 

Jenna

*I was that kid that could barely do a speech in English class, in fact I was told French class wasn’t right for me because when it came time to speak I started laughing nervously and had to leave the room.

2 thoughts on “#12 Try 5 new sports/ fitness activities-Pole Dance

Leave a Reply

