That time we climbed 1200 steps

We flew from Athens, Greece into Dubrovnik, Croatia, spent 1 night there, then got up to catch a 3hour bus costing us about 220kn (about £22). The bus took us from Dubrovnik over the boarder into Montenegro, more specifically Kotor.

Looking at Kotor old town from above

Looking at Kotor old town from above

We stayed in Kotor old town which was a five minute walk from the bus station and (despite Ad not listening to my amazing directions) we found our hostel with very little stress.
As much as I loved Greece, I was rather excited to not just be lying on a beach for a few days (we’ll have time for that next week) and once we unpacked our bags were quick to get exploring.

The city wall remind me of something from The Lord of the Rings

The city wall remind me of something from The Lord of the Rings

An amazing day to wonder round and explore

An amazing day to wonder round and explore

Around every corner there was something new to discover

Around every corner there was something new to discover

Introducing the Kotor fortress (it’s the thing on the hill top in the picture above.) You’re advised before you start walking to use the rest stops (you’re going to need them) and to watch out for reptiles (me: “that means snakes” Ad: “nah it’ll be lizards” guess which one we saw when we were walking?)

I wonder where this path would have led us?

I wonder where this path would have led us?

Surely this must be the top !?  Nope

Surely this must be the top !? Nope

Up and up it/we went past the church and the men selling drinks. Through some doors (“we must almost be there!”) Nope, it just kept going till…

Finally the top! All I ned now is a big glass of water (or something like that)

Finally the top! All I ned now is a big glass of water (or something like that)

Jen &Ad 1 Hills 0

Jen &Ad 1 Hills 0

 

8 thoughts on “That time we climbed 1200 steps

  1. Lisa says:

    I’ve seen a lot of things about Kotor lately but I didn’t know you could get a bus there from Dubrovnik. It looks gorgeous (even if there were snakes).

  2. Shikha (whywasteannualleave) says:

    How picturesque! I’ve done a few of these long stair climbs usually to the top of cathedrals etc in places like Cologne and always wonder at the time why I’m putting myself through it but it’s always so rewarding and beautiful to see the views – I haven’t been to Croatia but Kotor looks stunning!

Leave a Reply

