Don’t regret today what you could have started yesterday

Just under two years ago I made one the hardest admissions I would ever make. I WAS FAT and I needed help not to be. I’ve documented my first steps joining Weight Watchers already and why what one person said spurred me to do it.
I also documented the last few months of my journey, and how one year ago I GOT GOLD!

So now it’s been a year.
First thing, yes I have put on weight.
I got into the bad habit of thinking that because I’m at goal I’ll stay at goal, but unless I out in the effort this is really not true.

May 2012

May 2012

October 2014

October 2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also lost motivation when I moved to London. I started going out more, I moved to a meeting where I didn’t like the leader, and most importantly I kept making excuses (why I couldn’t run, why I couldn’t shop for good healthy food, why I should eat that bar of chocolate.)

December 2012

December 2012

October 2014

October 2014

But truth be told, even after eating my deep fried pizza dough for lunch (I walked up a hill afterwards so got those activity points) I craved healthy food, or food that was good for me.
At the end of the day Weight Watchers taught me habits. I can eat what I want, but I’ve got to be prepared to gain weight. If I do want that deep fried pizza dough for lunch then I’ll have a curry made with lots of vege, curry powder and water (Hostel living- it tastes better then it sounds.)

 

It sounds stupid but I can’t wait to get back to New Zealand and get back on plan. I love planning my weekly meals and shopping plan. I love cooking new meals, trying out different recipes to see if I can make them Weight Watchers friendly.

So just to warn you now, when I get back to New Zealand there maybe there maybe my terrible attempt at recipe posts

Oh and here’s my curry since you asked so nicely

Doesn't it look delicious

Doesn’t it look delicious

10 thoughts on “Don’t regret today what you could have started yesterday

  1. Kerri says:

    When we plan in advance we eat far more healthily than if you just try and make it up as we go along. Also, not keeping snacks on my desk helps with being healthy.

  2. Sophie says:

    Firstly – deep fried pizza dough sounds AMAZING. Where does one find this??
    Much as I love love love London, I’m kind of glad that I don’t live there because the food is just overwhelmingly EVERYWHERE. (Or at least through my eager gluttonous beady little eyes it is 😛 ) Same thing with my hometown of Toronto … I’m actually kind of convinced that when I move back from the Netherlands I’ll put on a bunch of weight.
    Anyhow, good luck with your efforts! I look forward to seeing your healthy recipes – I tend to really get into a rut so it’s always encouraging and inspiring for me to see what others get up to in the kitchen 🙂

Leave a Reply

