History Should Never be Forgotten

One of the things I enjoyed most about our trip was finding out about the different history of places. Places where as soon as you visited you could feel the history inside of the, the emotions good and bad, the walls whispering their secrets that still went untold.

Up until I was sitting down really writing this post I debated whether or not I should. There was the question of appropriateness. As well as the emotion and the history involved involved in these two places. And although they were some of my favourite places to visit, they left me feeling like I needed a hug from my mum.

Terezin memorial

TErezin

Just over an hour from Prague by train. What started off as a military fortress, this concentration camp and Jewish Ghetto was used in a Propaganda Film, and to show the Red Cross, the “Model Jewish Settlements” that they were providing for the Jewish people sent to camps. What it really was, was as many Jews crammed into a room as possible, taps that were never connected to any pipes, and in the end, a transit  before being sent off to an extermination camp.

Terezin small fortress building

The site is split into two locations.The Small Fortress, which was home to the military camp (one of it’s most famous prisoners being Gavrilo Princip, responsible for the assassination of Franz Ferdinand, Archduke of Austria  and sparking the beginnings of World War One.

Terezin small fortress

The other location, The Main Fortress, which is a short walk away, was the site of the Jewish Ghetto.

One of the most poignant moments in visiting Terezin by train is that on one of the platforms stands a statue  of Nicholas Winton and two small children. This was where many Jewish children  were saved from Terezin by being sent over to England and taken in by families thanks to the work of Nicholas Winton.

 AUSCHWITZ-BIRKENAU

Work will set you free

While in Krakow we decided to do a tour to Auschwitz-Birkenau. Even before arriving you knew that it was going to be an emotional rollercoaster. I’m not going to post much about it but this is a place that changed the lives of so many people.

Auschwitz-Birkenau

I will say this, I do think that it is incredible that these places open. I mean it in a good way. Something that a country could be ashamed of and try to destroy, these places are kept and used to teach and show future generations a past that should never happen again.

Auschwitz-Birkenau stop

14 thoughts on “History Should Never be Forgotten

  1. Michelle (@thetravelholic) says:

    I visited a concentration camp in Berlin and as depressing as it was, it was also a very educational experience especially when reflecting back on everything I’ve learned about the Holocaust back in high school. What was also interesting about the one in Berlin is that the area around the camp is residential…so some people actually live within a minute’s walk from it. I can’t imagine what that must feel like to be confronted with it everyday!

    • jennafrey says:

      I never got to go to Berlin and I think it wouold have been one place I would have loved because of the history there. Have you been to Dachau? It’s the same there and when the camp was closed they brought the town people to the camp to show them what was happening under their noses

  2. Kerri says:

    I think places like this should always be available for people to see. The terrible things that people do and can do again, we should be aware of them. Even though you didn’t write too much, still you shared and that’s enough. We can’t have all rainbows and butterflies in the real world. History should be respected and learnt from.

  3. Lisa says:

    I agree that it’s so important that they places remain as a reminder of what happened. I visited Neuengamme concentration camp on the outskirts of Hamburg when I lived there in 2006, it still stays with me. One of the most moving places I’ve been.

  4. Shikha (whywasteannualleave) says:

    It must have been such a thought-provoking experience and I think you are right, it is important these places are kept open so that no matter how much time passes, future generations never forget what took place and should never happen again.

  5. Elle Croft says:

    I’m so with you on this – it is incredible that these sites are available to us so we can learn from history and ensure we never repeat it. And it does feel strange taking photos and posting about it. I struggled with the same thing after my recent trip to Auschwitz-Birkenau, but you’ve handled this post with care.

  6. Rachael (@hookstitch) says:

    Thank you for sharing this post, I know topics like this are never easy. I was on a university trip to Krakow back in 2007 and we visited Auschwitz, we went from being a group of 20 of us who were snap happy with our cameras the entire trip and not one of us took one picture during our time there. That speaks so much to me, in itself all these years later.

    • jennafrey says:

      It is funny the way different people react and it’s almost like the groups you think would be snap happy aren’t and those who you’d assume would be a lot more respectful seemed to forget where they were

Leave a Reply

