Friday Five: Unexpected Perks of Blogging

This months travel link up topic  (As usual with Emma, Kelly, Rebecca And special guest host Sara) got me thinking of all the things I had expected blogging to be and all the things I actually got out of it.

Before I started blogging, I assumed it would be an easy 10minute write up of each blog post, add some pictures, followed by it being read by loads of people. Instead what it is is me spending half a morning writing a post, saving it, coming back to it later and changing half, saving it again, changing more after a break then finally deciding its ready.
It does require time and dedication but blogging does have some benefits to it.

 

1. An Online Diary

IMG_0659As much as I’ve tried I’ve never been able to keep a diary at all. I think I must have started one every year from between the ages of 8-14,filled in the first few pages then given up.
Blogging has let me record and remember things I’ve achieved, especially the moment when it’s the little details that I would otherwise forget.

2. A Newsletter for others

There’s always that one family, who even though you have no idea who they are, that sends that comprehensive Christmas newsletter every year about what little Muffy has been up to. Honestly I don’t care.

Blogging was a way of letting those people who genuinely wanted to know what I was doing and where I was (Mum) know and not bombarding a group of people who didn’t care with emails.

3. Creating Opportunities

Trafalgar Square My blog started as a way of creating opportunities for myself but never did I think that it would let me ride around London in a bus for free or visiting Ripleys Believe it or not. It’s also led to number 4.

4. Meeting New People

wpid-20140517_151603.jpg Afternoon teas, kiwi tweet ups, and soon brunching in Wellington. Blogging has allowed me to enter this amazing community where there are some amazing people ready to welcome you in with open arms and support you and your blog. I can’t wait to meet some more at the Wellington #Brunchclub

5. A Sense of Achievement
Although I wanted to start a blog I never thought I’d keep it going for a year, let alone 18 months. I never thought I’d get a single page view on some posts and now I’m getting comment on most of my posts (which I love by the way!) I may not have a huge audience but I have engagement and that’s what I feel is important.

Another added benefit is confidence. Confidence to continue to write my blog, confidence to engage in others blogs and the confidence to go out and meet other bloggers whose posts I love reading week after week.

What would you say is one unexpected benefit to blogging?

10 thoughts on “Friday Five: Unexpected Perks of Blogging

  1. Bunny Eats Design says:

    I love this list. I agree with all these things. One I would like to add for me, is that my blog has given me an excuse to be more adventurous. I’ve eaten and cooked so many things for the sake of my blog.

Leave a Reply

